Stuart Barr

Chair of Trustees

Stuart Barr is a conductor and producer, working with solo artistes and orchestras internationally. He was musical director to Dame Shirley Bassey from 2009-15, and has worked with orchestras worldwide including the London Symphony, Royal Philharmonic and BBC Concert Orchestras, and artists as diverse as Alfie Boe, Andrea Bocelli and Paloma Faith. He teaches at the Royal Academy of Music, and has judged on Choir of the Year for a decade, where he first met LYC’s Artistic Director Rachel Staunton. He is also a former President of the British Voice Association.

Leslie East


Leslie East was, until December 2014, Chief Executive of ABRSM and previously held the post of Executive Director and Publishing Director for the exam board.  Between 1987 and 1998 he was Director of Publishing of Novello and Co. Ltd and before that had been Director of Music at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.  He is currently Chair of the Trustees of The Association of British Choral Directors and Chairman of City Music Society.  He is a Pastmaster of The Musicians’ Company and acts as consultant to two music publishers.  He was appointed an OBE in the 2016 New Year’s honours list for services to musicians and music education.

Michael Llewelyn-Jones


Michael Llewelyn-Jones is a career banker, most recently a UK Vice Chairman at Citibank where he spent 25 years. In 2015-16 he was the Master of the Worshipful Company of International Bankers, City livery company.  He is now a banking consultant and a Visiting Professor at the London Institute of Banking and Finance.  He is a keen supporter of music and was previously Chairman of the Orchestra of St John’s.

George Wills


Duncan Watts